To Energy Enhancement Meditation Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Esoteric Psychology II - Chapter I - The Egoic Ray - The Seven Laws of Soul or Group Life
  1. The Law of Sacrifice - The Petals of Sacrifice. The sacrificial will of the Soul.
  2. The Law of Magnetic Impulse - The Petals of Love.
  3. The Law of Service - The Petals of Knowledge.

This fourth Law of Repulse works through the first Law of Sacrifice and carries to the aspirant the quality, influence and tendency of the Spiritual Triad, the threefold expression of the Monad. Its full force is felt only after the third initiation, in which the power of the Spirit is, for the first time, consciously felt. Up to that time it has been the growing control of the soul which was primarily registered. Therefore we have:

  1. The Law of Repulse - Fourth Law
    Atma - Spiritual Will. This influence comes via the egoic petals of sacrifice and the subsidiary Law of Sacrifice.
  2. The Law of Group Progress - Fifth Law
    Buddhi - Spiritual Love. This comes via the love petals of the egoic lotus, [151] and the subsidiary Law of Magnetic Impulse.
  3. The Law of Expansive Response - Sixth Law
    Manas - Higher spiritual mind. It comes via the knowledge petals and the subsidiary Law of Service.

These higher spiritual laws reflect themselves in the three lower spiritual laws, finding their way into the lower consciousness via the egoic lotus and the antahkarana. This statement is the second basic postulate in connection with our study of this Law of Repulse, the first postulate being the earlier statement that unless there is a thread of light to act as a channel, that which this law conveys will remain unknown and unrealized.

These six laws give us the key to the entire psychological problem of every human being, and there is no condition which is not produced by the conscious or unconscious reaction of man, to these basic influences - the natural and spiritual laws. If psychologists would accept the three basic laws of the universe, and the seven laws through which they express their influence, they would arrive at an understanding of the human being far more rapidly than is now the case. The three major laws are, as has been stated elsewhere:

  1. The Law of Economy. This governs primarily the instinctual nature of man.
  2. The Law of Attraction, which governs the soul aspect in man and in all forms of life, from an atom to a solar system.
  3. The Law of Synthesis, which will govern man when he has arrived at the Path of Initiation, but which as yet means but little in his development.

There are, then, the seven minor Laws which produce the [152] evolutionary unfoldment of man, the person, and man, the soul. These are:

  1. The Law of Vibration, the atomic law of the solar system.
  2. The Law of Cohesion, an aspect of the Law of Attraction.
  3. The Law of Disintegration.
  4. The Law of Magnetic Control, governing the control of the personality by the spiritual nature, via the soul nature.
  5. The Law of Fixation. By means of this law the mind controls and stabilizes.
  6. The Law of Love, whereby the lower desire nature is transmuted.
  7. The Law of Sacrifice and Death.

(A Treatise on Cosmic Fire, page 569.)

These seven laws concern the form side of life. To these ten laws must be added the seven laws of the soul which we are here considering. These begin to play upon the man and produce his more rapid spiritual unfoldment after he has been subjected to the discipline of the Probationary Path, or the Path of Purification. He is then ready to tread the final stages of the Path.

These seven laws are the basis of all true psychological understanding and, when their influence is better grasped, man will arrive at real self knowledge. He will then be ready for the fourth initiation which releases him from all further need for rebirth. This is the truth which underlies the Masonic teaching, which is given under the symbolism of the first eighteen degrees. These can be divided into four groups of degrees:

  • Entered Apprentice,
  • Fellow Craft, (followed by the Mark degree)
  • Master Mason (followed by the H.R.A.)
  • and the grouped degrees,

four to seventeen, in the Scottish Rite. These seventeen degrees prepare the man for the fourth [153] or fundamental degree, taken by the man who is a Master Mason. It can only be taken when the Master is in possession of the true Lost Word. He has risen from the dead; he has been entered, passed, and raised, and now can be perfected. Herein lies a great mystery. These seventeen degrees, leading to the first great step, (taken by the risen Master) are subjectively related to the seventeen laws which we have been considering. There is a parallelism worth noting between:

  1. The eighteen laws:
    1. The three major laws of the universe.
    2. The seven minor laws of the solar system.
    3. The seven basic laws of the soul, plus what we might call the great law of Deity Itself, the law of God's synthetic purpose.
  2. The eighteen subplanes through which man makes his way:
    1. The seven physical subplanes.
    2. The seven astral or emotional-desire subplanes.
    3. The four lower mental subplanes.
  3. The eighteen degrees in Masonry, from that of the Entered Apprentice to that of the perfected initiate of the Rose Croix Chapter.
  4. The eighteen centers of force with which the spiritual man has to work:
    1. The seven centers in the etheric body.
    2. The seven centers in the astral body.
    3. The three rows of petals in the egoic lotus.
    4. The "Jewel in the Lotus", at the heart of the "flower of the soul", which makes the eighteenth center.

An understanding of these symbolic relations will do much to clarify the way of the soul in a body, and will constitute the basis of all true esoteric psychological study. [154]

To Energy Enhancement Meditation Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Last updated Monday, July 6, 1998           Energy Enhancement Meditation. All rights reserved.
Search Search web