To Energy Enhancement Meditation Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Letters on Occult Meditation - Glossary P-Z
Permanent atom Those five atoms, with the mental unit, one on each of the five planes of human evolution (the mental unit being also on the mental plane) which the monad appropriates for purposes of manifestation. They form a stable center and are relatively permanent. Around them the various sheaths or bodies are built. They are literally small force centers.

Planetary Logos This term is generally applied to the seven highest spirits corresponding to the seven archangels of the Christian. They have all passed through the human stage and are now manifesting through a planet and its evolutions, in the same way that man manifests through his physical body. The highest planetary spirit working through any particular globe is, in reality, the personal God of the planet.

Prakriti Derives its name from its function as the material cause of the first evolution of the universe. It may be said to be composed of two roots, "pra" to manifest, and "krita" to make; meaning, that which caused the universe to manifest itself.

Prana The Life Principle, the breath of Life. The occultist believes the following statement: "Life we look upon as the one form of existence, manifesting in what is called matter, or what, incorrectly separating them, we name Spirit, Soul, and Matter in man. Matter is the vehicle for the manifestation of Soul on this plane of existence; soul is the vehicle for the manifestation of spirit, and these three as a trinity are synthesized by Life, which pervades them all." [358]

Purusha The spiritual self. The embodied self. The word literally means "The dweller in the city" that is, in the body. It is derived from the Sanskrit "pura" which means city or body, and "usha," a derivative of the verb "vas," to dwell.

Quaternary The fourfold lower self, or man, in the three worlds. There are various divisions of this, but perhaps for our purpose the best is to enumerate the four as follows:

  1. Lower mind.
  2. Emotional or kamic body.
  3. Prana, or the Life Principle.
  4. The etheric body, or the highest division of the twofold physical body.

Raja Lord The word "Raja" simply means King or Prince; the word has been applied to those great angels or entities who ensoul the seven planes. These are great devas who are the sum total and the controlling intelligence of a plane.

Raja Yoga The true system of developing psychic and spiritual powers and union with one's higher self or the Ego. It involves the exercise, regulation, and concentration of thought.

Ray One of the seven streams of force of the Logos; the seven great lights. Each of them is the embodiment of a great cosmic entity. The seven Rays can be divided into the three Rays of Aspect and the four Rays of Attribute, as follows:

Rays of Aspect:

  1. The Ray of Will, or Power.
  2. The Ray of Love-Wisdom.
  3. The Ray of Activity or Adaptability. [359]

Rays of Attribute:

  1. The Ray of Harmony, Beauty, Art, or Unity.
  2. The Ray of Concrete Knowledge or Science.
  3. The Ray of Abstract Idealism or Devotion.
  4. The Ray of Ceremonial Magic, or Law.

The above names are simply some chosen from among many, and embody the different aspects of force by means of which the Logos manifests.

Ring-pass-not This is at the circumference of the manifested solar system, and is the periphery of the influence of the sun, both esoterically and exoterically understood. The limit of the field of activity of the central life force.

Root Race One of the seven races of man which evolve upon a planet during the great cycle of planetary existence. This cycle is called a world period. The Aryan root race, to which the Hindu, European, and modern American races belong, is the fifth, the Chinese and Japanese belonging to the fourth race.

Sensa (Senzar) The name for the secret sacerdotal language, or the "mystery speech" of the initiated adepts all over the world. It is a universal language, and largely a hieroglyphic cypher.

Shamballa The City of the Gods, which is in the West to some nations, in the East to others, in the North or South to yet others. It is the sacred island in the Gobi Desert. It is the home of mysticism and the Secret Doctrine.

Triad The Spiritual Man; the expression of the monad. It is the germinal spirit containing the potentialities of divinity. These potentialities will be unfolded [360] during the course of evolution. This Triad forms the individualized or separated self, or Ego.

Viveka The Sanskrit "discrimination". The very first step in the path of occultism is the discrimination between the real and the unreal, between substance and phenomenon, between the Self and the Not-self, between spirit and matter.

Wesak A festival which takes place in the Himalayas at the full moon of May (Taurus). It is said that at this festival, at which all the members of the Hierarchy are present, the Buddha, for a brief period, renews his touch and with the work of our planet.

Yoga 1. One of the six schools of India, said to be founded by Patanjali, but really of much earlier origin. 2. The practice of Meditation, as a means of leading to spiritual liberation.

To Energy Enhancement Meditation Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Last updated Monday, May 11, 1998           Energy Enhancement Meditation. All rights reserved.
Search Search web