To Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali - Book 1 - The Problem of Union
36. By meditation upon Light and upon Radiance, knowledge of the Spirit can be reached and thus peace can be achieved.

The student should here note that each of the methods outlined above concerns certain centers. There are seven methods of attainment mentioned and therefore we can infer that the seven centers are involved.

Method I. Sutra 33. Solar plexus center.
The peace of the chitta (or mind stuff) can be brought about through the practice of sympathy, tenderness, steadiness of purpose, and dispassion in regard to pleasure or pain, or towards all forms of good or evil.

Method II. Sutra 34. Center at the base of the spine.
The peace of the chitta is also brought about by the regulation of the prana.

Method III. Sutra 35. Center between the eyebrows.
The mind can be trained to steadiness through those forms of concentration which have relation to the sense perceptions.

Method IV. Sutra 36. Head center.
By meditation upon Light and upon Radiance, knowledge of the Spirit can be reached and thus peace can be achieved. [82]

Method V. Sutra 37. Sacral center.
The chitta is stabilized and rendered free from illusion as the lower nature is purified and no longer indulged.

Method VI. Sutra 38. Throat center.
Peace (steadiness of the chitta) can be reached through meditation on the knowledge which dreams give.

Method VII. Sutra 39. Heart center.
Peace can also be reached through concentration upon that which is dearest to the heart.

These should be carefully considered, even if no details of procedure can here be given. Only the principle and the law involved can be considered by the student. It should be remembered also that all these centers have their correspondences in the etheric matter found in the region of the head and that it is when these seven head centers are awakened that their counterparts are also safely awakened. These seven head centers correspond in the microcosm to the seven Rishis of the Great Bear, the prototypes of the seven Heavenly Men, and the centers above enumerated relate to the energy of the seven Heavenly Men Themselves.

It is not necessary to enlarge here upon these centers beyond indicating the following:

  1. The aspirant may regard each center symbolically as a lotus.
  2. This lotus is formed of energy units moving or vibrating in a specific manner and these vibration-waves assume the forms we call the petals of the lotus. [83]
  3. Each lotus consists of:
    a. A certain number of petals,
    b. A pericarp or supporting calyx,
    c. A center of pure white light called the "jewel."
  4. Each center corresponds to a sacred planet, the body of manifestation of one of the seven Heavenly Men.
  5. Every center has to be developed through the use of the Word. This word is AUM and it must appear in the vibrant center eventually. When it shines forth perfectly within the wheel then that center has perfectly awakened.
  6. Certain of the qualities of the sun are the qualities of the centers.
a. Quality of the solar plexus warmth.
b. Quality of the center at the base of the spine kundalini fire.
c. Quality of the ajna center between the eyebrows illuminating light.
d. Quality of the head center cold light.
e. Quality of the sacral center moisture.
f. Quality of the throat center red light.
g. Quality of the heart center radiant or magnetic light.
In this sutra meditation upon light and radiance is enjoined and we learn that through this light and the ability to use it, knowledge of the spirit can be arrived at. At the center of the "heart chakra" dwells Brahma, says the old Scripture and He reveals Himself in the light. The aspirant has therefore to become aware cf the "point of light within the wheel with twelve [84] spokes" and as that point of light is dwelt upon, it reveals a road which must be travelled should the aspirant seek to arrive at his goal. The first thing which is revealed is darkness. This should be remembered. In terms of occidental mysticism this brings about the "dark night of the soul." We will not, however, dwell upon the mystical aspect as it is necessary for us to keep our conclusions as much as possible along the occult line. The truth, as expressed in terms of Christian mysticism, has been frequently and adequately covered.
To Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Last updated Monday, February 2, 1998          Energy Enhancement Meditation.
Search Search web